The Call for 2024 Award Nominations is open.

Annually two awards are presented to members for their outstanding service to CAPACRAO and higher education at our meeting. Nominations for these awards are requested prior to the June meeting and forwarded to the Award Committee for review and final selection. 

Click here to submit your nomination.

The deadline is June 14, 2024. 

Emerging Leader Award

The Award was created in 2015 to honor an emerging leader in their first eight years in Admissions, Records, Technology, Transfer, International or Enrollment Management. Special consideration is given to CAPACRAO members. The nominee should demonstrate a commitment to the field through professional growth activities, which drive initiatives to promote equity and inclusion within their Maryland and/or Washington, DC-area institution. The award may only be given to one person per year and is not necessarily awarded each year.

2015: Kristin Waters, University of Maryland Baltimore County
2016: Pheng Xiong, University of Maryland Baltimore County
2017: Jamie Holmes-Kriger, Salisbury University
2019: Shannon Hardester, Salisbury University
2020: Johnika Dreher, Prince George's Community College

Steven E. Smith Award

The Steven E. Smith Award was established in 2015 to commemorate the services of the first president of CAPACRAO Steven Smith, then the Registrar of the University of Maryland Baltimore County. The award is a distinguished service award and is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to CAPACRAO by regular conference attendance; program participation as presenter, recorder, or moderator; committee involvement; or other professional activities. The person should have been in CAPACRAO for a minimum of five years.

2016: Steven Smith
2017: Carol Harrison, College of Southern Maryland
2019: Jamie Holmes-Kriger, Salisbury University & Diane Major, College of Southern Maryland
2020: Aaron Urbanski, Johns Hopkins University

Join the CAPACRAO Awards Committee. Click here to learn more.